Competitors of VIII International Jorma Panula Conducting Competition selected

When the application closed, we had received 154 applications for the eight competition arranged in November 2021. The number of applicants broke the record once again, which was a pleasant surprise given these exceptional times. Under the instruction of academian Jorma Panula, the video jury has selected 20 + 4 competitors for the final competition arranged in Vaasa 16 November–19 November 2021.

The selected competitors are: Henri Christofer Aavik (Estonia), Gaddiel Dombrowner (France), Gevorg Gharabekyan (Switzerland), Thomas Goff (UK), Jascha Von der Goltz (Germany), Aivis Greters (Latvia), Ingunn Korsgård Hagen (Norway), Nathanael Iselin (France), Andres Kaljuste (Estonia), Gerald Karni (France), Johannes Marsovszky (Germany), Joonas Pitkänen (Finland), Joel Sandelson (UK/Germany), Benjamin Schäfer (Germany), Jack Sheen (UK), Joanna Slusarczyk (Poland), Jonathan Spandorf (Romania), Dimitris Spouras (Greece), Janne Valkeajoki (Finland), and Laurent Zufferey (Switzerland). The jury also selected 4 competitors for the waiting list in the following order: Geatano Lo Coco (Italy), Niklas Tamm (Sweden), Fernando Palomeque (Poland), and Markus Luomala (Finland).

The Jorma Panula Conducting Competition is among the most prestigious conducting competitions in Europe, and is now arranged for the eight time in Vaasa. From the very beginning, academian Jorma Panula has been the Artistic Director and Chairman of the competition, which is held every three years. This year, the jury consists of Jorma Panula himself, conductor Neeme Järvi (Estonia), conductor Nicolás Pasquet (Uruguay), composer Kaija Saariaho (Finland), and conductor Johannes Schlaefli (Switzerland). The competition orchestra are once again the Vaasa City Orchestra and Jyväskylä Sinfonia.

More information
Competition Secretary
Michael Claussen
tel +358 44 3244 222

  Application period will be open online
1 December 2020 - 31 March 2021!